10 October 2018

The news of the 2018 Nobel Prize for Physics was met with much pride by the members of the Centre for Optics, Photonics and Lasers. Gérard Mourou of École Polytechnique de Palaiseau, in France and of the University of Michigan, and Donna Strickland of the University of Waterloo both have strong links to COPL researchers.

Prof. Mourou supervised the postdoctoral research of COPL Director Réal Vallée, back in 1987 at the University of Rochester’s Laboratory for Laser Energetics. As for Ms. Strickland, whose PhD activities leading to the Nobel Prize were also supervised by Prof. Mourou, she has had productive collaborations with Professor Emeritus See Leang Chin and Professor Michel Piché, both longstanding COPL members. The COPL had in fact organized a symposium in 2010 to honour Professors Mourou and Strickland for the 25th anniversary of their Nobel winning technology.

The third recipient of this year’s Nobel Prize for Physics, Arthur Ashkin, was honoured for his work on optical tweezers, a technology still very actively researched at the COPL in the laboratories of Prof. Yunlong Sheng.


<< back
Centre d'optique, photonique et laser
2375 rue de la Terrasse, local 2104
Université Laval, Québec, Canada, G1V 0A6
Ce site utilise TYPO3 Ralisation: quipe Tactic