Younès Messaddeq

Position : Professor, Université Laval
Phone : 418 656-2131, ext. 405338
E-mail :
Web site :

Professional affiliations :

Department of Physics, Engineering Physics and Optics, Université Laval

Chairholder, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Enabling Photonic Innovations for Information and Communication

Projects in progress :

Ultra-low loss middle infrared glasses

Microstructured and multi-functional optical fibres

Nanostructured materials

Interests :

  • New glass-based materials for the development of microstructured fibres, fibre lasers and optical devices
  • Advanced materials based on bacterial cellulose for medical applications
  • Multifunctional organic materials (organic light emitting diodes)
  • Thin film production

Research team :

Research Scientists
Julie Fréchette
Yannick Ledemi
Sandra Messaddeq
Mourad Roudjane

Postdoctoral Fellows
Émeline Baudet
Tigran Dadalyan
Douglas Franco
Ruohui Wang (co-supervised with Sophie LaRochelle-COPL)

PhD Students
Salah Abdullah (co-supervised with Jacques Albert, Carleton University)
Brice Bellanger
Olivier Boily
Marie Bourdin (Cotutelle PhD with Manuel Gaudon, Université de Bordeaux)
Nathaly Colmemares
Wagner Correr
Long Cui (co-supervised with Sophie LaRochelle-COPL)
Ricardo de Faria
Jean-Luc Déziel (co-supervised with Louis Dubé, Dept. of Physics, Engineering Physics and Optics, Université Laval)
Alexandre Douaud
Alice Goillot
Antisar Hlil (co-supevised with Raman Kashyap-COPL)
Philippe Jean (co-supervised with Wei-Shi-COPL)
Mazen Khalil
Rafaela Lamarca
Hamza Landary (co-supervision with Amine Miled, Electrical and Computer Engineering Dept., Université Laval)
Geoffrey Louvet (Cotutelle PhD with Virginie Nazabal, Université de Bordeaux)
Anthony Maldonado
Joy Sankar
Huijie Wang (cosupervised with Wei Shi-COPL)

Master's Students
Hajer Abed (co-supervised with Amine Miled, Electrical and Computer Engineering Dept, Université Laval)
Ismail Ben-Amar
Fatima Zahra Benlamilh (cosupervised with Steeve Pépin, Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, Université Laval)
Simon Dubuis
Gabriel Dugas (cosupervised with Ahmed Chebak, UQAR)
Anna Gagné-Landmann
Mathieu Sylvain (cosupervised with Benoît Gosselin, Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Université Laval)

Senior Technicians
Nicolas Grégoire
Patrick Larochelle
Steeve Morency

Philippe Labranche

Administrative Assistant
Michelle Bernier



Centre d'optique, photonique et laser
2375 rue de la Terrasse, local 2104
Université Laval, Québec, Canada, G1V 0A6
Ce site utilise TYPO3 Ralisation: quipe Tactic